Stay up to date with all the latest news from Paragraph


23rd March 2018
Ian Macleod Distillers and Hakushu triumph at the Whisky Magazine Awards 2018

[London] On an evening of celebration at the Waldorf Hilton, in the heart of London, Whisky Magazine announced the winners of its annual Whisky Magazine Awards. Presented on the evening were the winners from the World Whiskies Awards, Icons of Whisky Global and the latest inductees to the prestigious Hall of Fame. It was a particularly special evening for the magazine, as it celebrated its 150th issue.

Ian Macleod Distillers were presented as Distiller of the Year, following the success of its Glengoyne and Tamdhu distilleries, along with its recent announcement that it is reviving the cherished Rosebank Distillery. TheIcons of Whisky awards reflect the global nature of whisky, and Sharon Deane from Hellyers Road was awarded Visitor Attraction Manager of the Year, while Andy Watts of Distell, was deservedly rewarded for his passion and enthusiasm, with the title of Master Distiller / Blender of the Year.

In the World Whiskies Awards, Hakushu 25 Years Old, was crowned World’s Best Single Malt, capping yet another sterling year for Japanese whiskies, while Taketsuru 17 Years Old was presented as World’s Best Blended Malt. Johnnie Walker Gold Label was announced as the World’s Best Blended. Following Andy Watts’success, Distell were celebrating again as Bain’s Cape Mountain Whisky picked up World’s Best Grain.

The evening concluded with three industry giants being inducted into the Whisky Magazine Hall of Fame. Dr Nicholas Morgan was revealed as Inductee 48, honouring his work as Head of Whisky Outreach for Diageo, while Inductee 49 was presented to father and son Mr TT Lee and YT Lee from Kavalan in Taiwan, who have widened the frontier of whisky.

Rob Allanson, editor of Whisky Magazine says, “It was a truly a pleasure to present such honours to the whisky industry. The Whisky Magazine Awards celebrate the diverse nature of the category we work in. In the World Whiskies Awards, it was exciting to see such great whiskies, truly covering the globe, achieve the highest awards we can offer. Equally our Icons of Whisky awards have recognised a great year for Ian Macleod, who picked up Distiller of the Year. It’s always a delight to recognise the work of industry titans and Dr Nicholas Morgan, Mr TT Lee and YT Lee are truly in that sphere. Thank you to all those who took part in the awards and
our sponsors, for another special evening.”

Awards are available in full at, and in Issue 150 of Whisky Magazine.
NEXT STORY The Gin GuildPREVIOUS STORY World Whiskies Awards Winners Announced


+44 (0) 1603 633 808

Paragraph Publishing Limited. Registered in England and Wales, number 5292845. VAT number: 706 7778 02 Copyright © 1999 - 2019  Site by neooptic